Celebrating one month in Cardiff

Waterloo tea complete with cake, scones, truffles , sandwiches and individuals pots of tea!
Waterloo tea complete with cake, scones, truffles , sandwiches and individuals pots of tea!

I spent the end of my first month in Cardiff in the best way possible – a day of great lectures with fabulous course mates, followed by plans to meet up in the evening for Sophie’s Birthday at the Pen and Wig. I went home then to cook some yummy food, enjoying the relaxation cooking brings, and cleared my room (not the best part of the day I will admit!). Switching on my computer to talk to my father and sisters, and then to spend a couple of hours with Emanuel, I could feel back at home in an instant.

Back from the great night out, I sat waiting for my mum to arrive in Cardiff for the first time. I knew that this would be followed the next week by Emanuel. What more could I want?

Both weekends were different and equally fantastic. I bought raisin and coconut bread for my Mum and went to Waterloo tea gardens for afternoon tea. This place is definitely recommended by my mum, my auntie (who joined from Surrey) and I. We were treated like princesses and the scones were by far the best I’ve tasted.

On Sunday we went to Cardiff Bay (I did this the following week with Emanuel). Once again, food is always sought after and Fabulous Welsh Cakes are true to their name. So much so, that Emanuel had to buy another packet of welsh cakes to take to my mum as my sisters had gobbled them up! Compared to the ones Emanuel and I ate at Cardiff Market they were scales of goodness above! With Emanuel we ate dinner at Cardiff Bay in a steakhouse called Miller and Carter. The steak was divine and was served with a delicious homemade onion loaf and a lettuce wedge (very fresh!) with a dressing of our choice. Considering the size of the rib-eye and the condiments that came with it, not forgetting the wine, we figured that for the same thing in Malta we would have paid at least twenty pounds more! That makes the wine taste sweeter when you’re a student 😉

I spent Monday morning with my Mum shopping in the massive St. David Mall.  As you can imagine we were exhausted by the end of it!  I then treated her to some lovely pizza from the Pizza Express chain restaurants! My Mum was impressed and that is saying something considering that her homemade pizzas are the best!

I was so happy to see both my mum and Emanuel, and missed my sisters and my dad – they would have loved it. It is nice to know that they have a bearing now on where I am staying and they can gauge how happy I am in this beautiful city. Emanuel also got the chance to meet some of my roommates and my friends which is even better, since now he knows them beyond Facebook!

Leave a Reply

