A Perfect Student Cook Casserole

I love to cook. In fact, I like to experiment and I like to bake. Even more, after a stressful day at Uni, cooking is all I really want to do. Except when I don’t. Sometimes although the cupboard is stocked there doesn’t seem to be the right mix of things to make something yummy. No bacon bits for Carbonara, no noodles for stirfry etc. Sometimes I buy something different to break the cycle but am unsure what to do with it (Pasta sauce I hear you shout! Yes true but something Not pasta is usually the struggle!)

This is what happened last week. I bought 8 Cumberland Pork Sausages to have a creamy sausage pasta fest. In a mis-planning catastrophe (euphemism), turns out I had had too much pasta when it came to Friday night (happens way to often). I was going to make an omelette but had had eggs in the morning. Long story short, I found Pinterest (as always) and found this gem. An Italian style sausage bake. It had my two favourite words associated with food: Italian and bake. Although I adapted the recipe as always, I kept to the suggested timing (almost 2 hours) and was not disappointed. The vegetables I used apart from potatoes included aubergine carrots and mushrooms. Along with the olive oil I added a tablespoon of hot water and mustard and a mix of thyme, parsley and basil.

Italian Sausage Bake | Katie's Cucina

That was one hearty meal. With 8 sausages I had enough for 2 big meals and one mini lunch. Bread was a good accompaniment although the meal itself was enough. I guess hungry people could add couscous or rice, but the potatoes give the carbs you need. Definitely going in my fave recipes pile!

 

One thought on “A Perfect Student Cook Casserole

Leave a Reply

